June 23, 2005

Today in Automotive History

1991 Sun Rises On Le Mans

Bertrand Gachot, Johnny Herbert, and Volker Wiedler won the 24-Hours of Le Mans driving a Mazda. It was the first time an automaker outside of Western Europe had won the prestigious title. The 1990s has seen a resurgence of interest in Le Mans, as companies struggle to make better handling more durable sports cars for the world market. The 1991 Mazda was also the first car to win Le Mans with a Wankel rotary engine. The engine consisted of four rotors with three sequential spark plugs per rotor. The Mazda drove 4,923 kilometers at an average speed of 295kmh.

Posted by Quality Weenie at June 23, 2005 08:08 AM